Help Me Help You

Findings: The Man, The Myth, the Legend.

For Getmenot:

First, a little something I’ve stumbled upon.

“I’ve been following the signs for quite some time.

There are woodcuts dated back to the 16th century in Germany featuring a tall, disfigured man with only white spheres where his eyes should be. They called him “Der Großmann”[Sic], the tall man. He was a fairy who lived in the Black Forest. Bad children who crept into the woods at night would be chased by the slender man, and he wouldn’t leave them alone until he caught them, or the child told the parents what he or she had done. Even then, there is this chilling account from an old journal, dating around 1702:(Translated from German, some words may be innaccurate)

‘My child, my Lars…He is gone. Taken, from his bed. The only thing that we found was a scrap of black clothing. It feels like cotton, but it is softer…thicker. Lars came into my bedroom yesterday, screaming at the top of his lungs that “The angel is outside!”, I asked him what he was talking about, and he told me some nonsense fairy story about Der Großmann. He said he went into the groves by our village and found one of my cows dead, hanging from a tree. I thought nothing of it at first…But now, he is gone. We must find Lars, and my family must leave before we are killed. I am sorry my son…I should have listened. May God forgive me.’

There is more evidence of the slender man, but this is one of the oldest translatable accounts. Anyone else in the thread found anything like this?”

 

Looks like someone found your angel, Frank. It’s funny how we search for something for so long, and it turns up right under our noses.

I have discovered much in my absence, hunting down facts on this creature.  Mostly, I’ve learned that there is no fear. Fear is a thing of the mind, and I will not, I WILL NOT fear. I know how to beat this thing now.

This Slender-man is a creature of habit. It thinks, it hunts, it reasons, but most of all, it feels. And if it feels, it can feel fear. If it can feel fear, it can die.

Fear is the only tool it has. We presume it can do everything from hypnotize to control time itself, and that just isn’t the case. It feeds on your fear. It doesn’t do anything but let you destroy yourself. Well, I’m not prey. I’m not prey. I’m. Not. PREY!

It’s interesting that we call you a man, simply because it looks like you’re wearing a business suit. But I know who you are. I know what you are. I know how to stop you. Isn’t that right, “Forget me not?”

I’m not done. In fact, I’m more in control than I have been in a long time. You thought yourself wise, a fox hidden among the lambs in silence. Yet I found you. Your mask has been torn away, and you will never hurt them again.

Sincerely,

Jackson Burr

One response

  1. Getmenot

    -..- – – –

    waRned

    staYed

    sOught

    pReyed

    miStaken

    XOXOSOSOXOX

    October 20, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Leave a Reply

