Help Me Help You

Overlooked.

Ok, so I’ve been with Mara for almost the last week, straight.  I’ve taken time off from work, and have only left for certain necessary errands, or when my mom locked her keys in the car on Thursday.  Basically, I’ve been gone 8 times, 20 minutes at the longest  in the last 6 days…and now that she’s finally awake, I’ve noticed two trends – one marvelous and one disturbing.

First, I heard her voice for the first time in our 4 years of dating…it was so surreal, so beautiful.  To describe it would be as trying to grasp a gentle breeze – futile, yet soothing.  Don’t get me wrong; I’ve loved her all along.  But hearing her is…well, it’s like going back and watching Michelangelo paint upon the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel.  You can still see it, but you just kinda had to be there.

Second, I’ve perused the visitor list a few times since we saw that Jackson came while I was away helping mom Thursday night.  Mara’s had family visit several times over the course of her stay – she’s been here for so long because she keeps slipping in and out of this coma-like state.  At first, I thought it was my fault, because it seemed to happen when I left.  But some strangers have been making regular visits – in fact, I now believe her unconsciousness to be strictly on their hands.

Les Nogan and Nan Gelso – three visits each, and a Sloan Gen who has been here another two times.  The nursing staff said they claimed they were friends from work, and that “they were sorry they missed me, but they’d catch me later.”  At first, it was confusing, but then I couldn’t stop thinking about the names.  Then I wrote them next to each other and compared them.  Then I had to stop thinking about it.

They are the same.  Some…sick person…is dressing up like different people just to get into Mara’s room.  Messing with someone on the internet is one thing.  Sabotaging Mara in her own hospital room….

I’ve never been a strong person.  I’ve never stood up for myself.  But if you touch her again, I’ll shove my foot so far up your ass, you’ll be defecating through your ears.  Bet on it.

4 responses

  1. Frank Rustle

    Whoa, whoa, calm down Jason. Look, I know you are pissed about this, and you have every right to be. But don’t go vigilante on me now. We’ve already lost Jackson to God-Knows-Where, we don’t need to lose you too. That isn’t going to fix anything.

    November 2, 2010 at 10:56 am

  2. Faron

    Do we have any idea what this person even wants Mara for? I mean, will she talk to you about it?

    November 3, 2010 at 2:17 am

  3. She’s been unconscious during the visits, but every once in a while, she will make some weird remark about “the parasite.” The most recent of these was yesterday, when she said it was trying to hurt her friend; so her friend left, and now she is sad. Do you think this could have something to do with her post here?

    If so, then we may not be up against a person so much as a “thing.” I need you to be careful too, Faron; Stay with us, but be safe. You’ve shown invaluable support for us when others wouldn’t, and I don’t want to repay you with this thing’s ire.

    November 3, 2010 at 1:17 pm

  4. Faron

    I’m keeping my hackles up on this one– it’s already expressed displeasure.

    I think the parasite/friend may have something pretty serious to do with her post.

    I’ll be here for you guys. I’ll let you know if anything untoward happens my way.

    November 5, 2010 at 5:24 am

Leave a Reply

